Reset Loupedeck+ or Loupedeck Original back to factory mapping

How to reset the devices to their factory mapping

Resetting Loupedeck+ or Loupedeck Original so, that you will have the factory default mapping, is done by deleting existing layout-files.

Deleting layouts will delete all individual mapping for the supported software.

As backup/restore does not help in this case (it would restore the corrupted layout), all individual mappings should be written down before resetting, so that they can be remapped manually.

Windows:

  • Open any folder
  • Copy and paste following to the folder address bar, and press enter to open correct location:
    %userprofile%\AppData\Local\Loupedeck
  • Open Layouts folder
  • Delete a) target-application related files (e.g. deleting layout files that state "Lightroom" will reset lightroom layouts), or b) all layouts, to reset everything.
  • After deleting required layout files: Right click Loupedeck icon on the taskbar and select "Restart Loupedeck"

Note: When Loupedeck service restarts, it will recreate missing layout files as the default ones provided with the software.

If you need to reset layout files often, consider creating a .BAT file to your computer desktop to run following:
cd %userprofile%\AppData\Local\Loupedeck
rd /s/q Layouts
rm layouts

MacOS:

  • Open Finder and press: Shift+Cmd+period (.)
    to be able to see hidden folders and files
  • Open folders: .local -> share -> Loupedeck
  • Open Layouts folder
  • Delete a) target-application related files (e.g. deleting layout files that state "Lightroom" will reset lightroom layouts), or b) all layouts, to reset everything.
  • After deleting required layout files: Right click Loupedeck icon on system bar and select "Stop Loupedeck"
  • Open Launchpad and click on Loupedeck icon to restart Loupedeck service/software